Choose your language



Madiran

 

 

Madiran is a remarkable wine. Intense, endowed with lovely rich aromas, especially black fruits like cherry, blackberry and blackcurrant. It is full and dense, nicely refreshing with silky tannins and a hint of spice.

 

Madiran should be served at 16°/17°. It goes well with all types of cuisine: grilled meats, lamb, traditional south-west cooking, sheep’s cheese and more originally, world cuisine or chocolate desserts.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Styles of Madiran

Two styles of Madiran are available:

 

   

CORE-RANGE WINES

 

Core-range wines also called “Madiran Tradition” are the fruit of a Tannat and Cabernet blend. The wine is matured for at least one year, principally in tanks, but part of the blend can be transferred to oak barrels. These are intensefresh and fruity wines that are pleasant to drink as an aperitif with full-flavoured appetisers such as bacon-rolled prunes, melon-Bayonne ham brochettes, marinated peppers or cured meats, grilled red meat, spicy risotto and free-range poultry.

 

THE HIGH-END RANGE

 

The high-end range is comprised of Tannat-dominant vintages. They undergo a minimum aging of one year in oak
barrels. These wines are powerful and elegant, marked by aromas of toast, leather, liquorice and spices. They go
wonderfully with a marbled rib of beef, duck magret with fresh figs, a leg of lamb, some Bigorre black pork or a Thai
beef curry.

There are also a few select prestigious vintages: a jubilation of Madiran that highlight the best terroirs in the appellation.

 

 

 

 

Storage

Madiran wines are timeless. They all share the same ability to withstand the passage of time and aging in the cellar. When enjoyed young, after two to three years maturing, they express notes of red and black fruit. When in their prime, they reveal spicy and candied aromas.

 

Depending on the vintage, the “core-range” wines can be consumed as soon as they are marketed and for the following 5 years. It is worth keeping the “high-end” wines for two to three years before drinking and they can be aged in the cellar for 10 years and more.

 

Conception, Réalisation Winao

Follow Madiran

Choisissez votre langue



Madiran

 

 

Le Madiran est vin singulier. Intense, pourvu d’une belle richesse aromatique, on y trouve des arômes de fruits noirs tels que la cerise, la mûre et le cassis. Ample et dense il est caractérisé par une belle fraîcheur, des tannins soyeux et des notes d’épices.

 

Le Madiran se sert à 16°/17°. Il accompagne bien tous types de cuisine : les viandes grillées, l’agneau, la cuisine traditionnelle du Sud-Ouest, les fromages de brebis mais aussi, plus original, la cuisine du monde ou les desserts ou chocolat.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Styles de Madiran

Il existe 2 styles de Madiran

 

   

COEUR DE GAMME

 

Les "coeurs de gamme" également appelés Madiran "Tradition", sont le fruit de l’assemblage de Tannat et de cabernets. Le vin effectue un élevage d’un an minimum principalement en cuve. Néanmoins une partie de l’assemblage peut être passé en fût de chêne. Ce sont des vins intenses, frais et fruités qui sont agréables à boire à l’apéritif avec des amuses bouches relevés tels que le pruneau au lard, la brochette melon-jambon de Bayonne, des poivrons marinés ou bien des planches de charcuterie, des viandes rouges grillées, des risottos épicés ou des volailles fermières. 

HAUT DE GAMME

 

Les "hauts de gamme" sont des cuvées où le Tannat est très dominant. Elles bénéficient d’un élevage d’un an minimum en fût de chêne. Ce sont des vins puissants et élégants marqués par des arômes de pain grillé, de cuir, de réglisse et d’épices. Ils accompagnent à merveille une côte de bœuf persillée, un magret de canard aux figues fraîches, un gigot d’agneau, une pièce de porc noir de Bigorre ou un curry de bœuf façon Thaï. 

Il existe également quelques cuvées d'exception qui mettent en avant les plus beaux terroirs de l'appellation et qui font la gloire des vins de Madiran.

 

 

 

 

Garde

Les vins de Madiran sont intemporels. Ils ont cette caractéristique commune de bien supporter le passage des années et le vieillissement en cave. On peut les déguster jeunes, à l’issue d’un élevage de 2 à 3 ans sur des notes de fruits rouges et noirs, ou dans la force de l’âge, dévoilant des arômes épicés et confits.

Selon le potentiel du millésime les « cœurs de gamme » se consomment dès la mise sur le marché et pendant les 5 années suivantes. Les « hauts de gamme » gagnent à être gardés 2 à 3 ans avant d’être consommés et peuvent vieillir en cave au moins 10 ans.

 

Conception, Réalisation Winao

Recommandez Madiran