Choose your language



Tannat

 

Tannat, the grape variety of choice from the Pyrenean Piedmont, is the basis for Madiran’s identity and originality. Very rare, with no more than 3500 hectares throughout the world, it today represents close to 70% of the appellation’s vine stock.

 

In all probability originating from the Bearn region, Tannat belongs to the Cotoide family that has been present in the South-West since Roman times.

 

The term tannat comes from the Occitan: tan “tannin”, i.e.: tanned. It is made up of compact, cylindrical two-handled grape bunches; spherical, blue-black medium-sized berries with thick skin. It is a late-ripening productive variety which flourishes wonderfully on Madiran lands.

 

 

 

 

 

Tannat alone or blended

 

The appellation decree requires that 60 to 80% of vine plantations are of Tannat on a given estate in
order to obtain the AOP Madiran label.

A Madiran wine must contain a minimum of 50% Tannat. This can be increased to 100% in certain vintages. The wines must undergo a mandatory year of maturing before being marketed.

 

Complementary grape varieties that are authorised come from the Carmenet family, originating from the Adour basin in the Pyrenees. They include:
 
- Cabernet Franc 20%
- Cabernet Sauvignon 10%
- Fer Servadou 1%

  

Health and Tannat

 

Tannins act as an antiseptic agent against contaminating bacteria and protect against oxidation. It should be recalled that Tannat is exceptionally rich in polyphenols, which are natural anti-oxidants, making Tannat the best representative of the “French Paradox”, much envied by wine consumers all over the world. The anti-oxidant properties of Tannat play an essential part in protecting against cardio-vascular disease.



 

In his book “The Wine Diet”, published in France as “Boire mieux pour vivre mieux”, British-born Roger Corder, Professor of Experimental Therapeutics at the William Harvey Research Institute Queen Mary, University of London, publishes the results of a scientific study demonstrating that average life expectancy for men over 75 in south-west France is the highest for the whole of France. On the daily menu: fresh produce and… a glass of Madiran!

 

 

 

 

 Below is a selection of articles about the benefits of Tannat on health:  

 

Interview with Professor R. Corder in French at Dailymotion 

Conception, Réalisation Winao

Follow Madiran

Choisissez votre langue



Tannat

 

Cépage roi issu du piémont pyrénéen le Tannat est à la base de l’identité et de l’originalité des vins de Madiran. Peu répandu – pas plus de 3500 ha dans le monde - il représente aujourd’hui près de 70% de l’encépagement de l’appellation.

Probablement originaire du Béarn, le Tannat, issu de la famille des Cotoides, est présent dans le Sud-Ouest depuis les Romains.

Le terme tannat vient de la langue d'Oc : tan « tanin », c’est-à-dire tanné. Il se compose de grappes compactes, cylindriques avec deux ailerons, aux baies sphériques, de taille moyenne, bleu-noir à peau épaisse, colorée. C’est un cépage tardif et productif qui se complait et s’épanouit merveilleusement sur les terroirs de Madiran.

 

 

 

 

 

Tannat et assemblages

 

Le décret d’appellation impose un encépagement de 60% à 80% de la propriété en Tannat pour obtenir la qualification en AOP Madiran.

Un Madiran contient minimum 50% de Tannat. La proportion de Tannat peut atteindre 100% pour certaines cuvées. Les vins bénéficient obligatoirement d’une année d’élevage avant d’être commercialisés.

 

Les cépages complémentaires autorisés sont issus de la famille des Carmenets, originaire du bassin de l’Adour dans les Pyrénées. Il s’agit du :

     Cabernet Franc 20%

     Cabernet Sauvignon 10%

     Fer Servadou 1%

  

Tannat et santé

 

Les tanins ont une fonction antiseptique contre les bactéries de contamination et protègent contre l’oxydation. Rappelons l’exceptionnelle richesse du Tannat en polyphénols, par nature anti-oxydants et qui font du Tannat, le plus bel ambassadeur de ce « French paradox » envié par tant de consommateurs de vin dans le monde. Les propriétés anti-oxydantes du Tannat joueraient un rôle essentiel dans la protection contre les maladies cardio-vasculaires.



 

Dans son livre « The Wine Diet », édité en français sous le titre « Boire mieux pour vivre vieux », le britannique Roger Corder, professeur de thérapeutique expérimentale au William Harvey Research Institute Queen Mary de l’Université de Londres, publie les résultats d’une étude scientifique démontrant que la durée de vie moyenne des hommes de plus de 75 ans dans le Sud-Ouest de la France (Gers) est la plus élevée de France. Au menu chaque jour : des produits frais et… un verre de Madiran !

 

 

 

 

  Voici quelques articles relayants les bienfaits du tannat sur la santé :  

 

Interview du professeur R.Corder en langue française chez Dailymotion

Conception, Réalisation Winao

Recommandez Madiran